Even before Wonder Woman 1984 came out, director Patty Jenkins was been teasing fans about a third movie. Gal Gadot, who plays the superhero, mentioned her excitement about the movie and gave an update in April that the production team was hard at work on the script. Now, it looks like the script has already been completed. During a recent appearance at the Matera Film Festival in Italy, Jenkins revealed that she had already finished writing the last scene for the movie. Jenkins worked as the director and screenwriter for Wonder Woman 1984. Jenkins also added that she planned for a trilogy for Wonder Woman. “And so, where I said that I was only going to do one, then oh my god, I have to do two. And then, I find myself saying, ‘Oh my god, I’m antsy to do three.’ And so, even now, I say, ‘That’s it’ because I always plan a three-movie arc. " While the plan is for a trilogy, the director has also hinted at possible sequels to Wonder Woman 3. “But even now, I just wrote last week the final scene of Wonder Woman 3 and I thought, I might be interested to see what happens next. So you’ll never know.” We know little about Wonder Woman 3 outside of the return of Lynda Carter as Asteria. The aforementioned actress played Wonder Woman in the 1970s television show and appeared in a post-credits scene for Wonder Woman 1984. After exploring the past in the first two films, the third installment will reportedly be set in the present day to catch up to the timelines of the Justice League and all the other DC Extended Universe films. Wonder Woman 3 will likely come out in 2024 at the earliest. That is an optimistic timeline given how many DC films have been delayed. Black Adam will be the only DC movie to release in the last quarter of 2022 as after the Shazam and  Aquaman sequels were delayed and Batgirl was canceled. Joker: Folie à Deux is the only movie slated for a 2024 release.

Script for Wonder Woman 3 has been completed - 27Script for Wonder Woman 3 has been completed - 31Script for Wonder Woman 3 has been completed - 54Script for Wonder Woman 3 has been completed - 1